New Obsession: Foster the People

6 Jul

No matter how many times I listen to Torches, I can’t seem to get enough. That’s right, I’m talking about the latest and rapidly-trending album from Foster the People. Mark my words, this band is about to blow up.

Despite the mildly juvenile and emo-sounding track names such as “I Would Do Anything For You,” this band reaches more than just a pre-pubescent audience and can deliver the goods. Heck, my 50-year-old boss at my fitness job asked me to make her a copy of the CD when she heard me playing it after core crunch.

And then there’s Kira and me who have had it on repeat since we decided to go splitsies purchasing the album. (Yes, I spent money on yet another album. This may be the new way to gauge how much I actually love a band.)

The upbeat percussive backdrop to the synth sound and whistle-inducing melodies makes songs like “Helena Beat,” “Call It What You Want,” and (my personal favorite) “Houdini,” instant party favorites. Not to mention the deceptively peppy sounds of the darkly-themed Pumped Up Kicks, which is very likely the most successful song of the album.

The band is selling out shows across the U.S. and will make appearances at larger festivals such as Lollapalooza, POPPED, and Austin City Limits after doing some touring on an international scale. I will have the privilege of seeing them at least twice. It’s okay to be jealous.

Those who have heard their music cannot fight the obsession; looks like it’s time for you to join the club.

Am I way out of line being this in love with these guys? Let me know your thoughts on Foster the People.

xoxo,
J

Leave a Reply

